Meetings

Some meetings are at present being scheduled as Zoom Meetings. If you would like to attend, please email your details to: membership@nottsfhs.org

Meetings are normally held at the Nottinghamshire Archives, Castle Meadow Road, Nottingham, NG2 1AG, commencing at 7.00 pm with sole use of the Search Room from 5pm. Free car parking on site. But untill such time as restrictions are eased, will be held as Zoom Meetings where possible.

Programme 2022

The following meetings are scheduled as Zoom Meetings:

Wednesday 19th January 2022:    “1921 Census of England & Wales” by Jen Baldwin from FindMyPast

Wednesday 16th February 2022:  “William Henry Revis: footballer, industrialist and philanthropist” by Prof John Beckett         

Wednesday 16th March 2022:       “Nottinghamshire Castles” by Robert Mee

Wednesday 20th April 2022:   “Bulwell, 1750-1880: Industrialisation and Urbanisation in the Leen valley” by Dr Stephen Walker

The following meetings will be hybrid meetings (Online & in person at the Archives)

Wednesday 18th May 2022:    AGM at Nottinghamshire Archives, followed by

“The Origins of Place Names” by Anthony Poulton-Smith

Wednesday 15th June 2022: “Folklore and/or Busking” by Dave Mooney

Wednesday 20th July 2022: “Two Lenton family history puzzles & solutions” by Steve Zaleski

Wednesday 17th August 2022: “No Surrender, (Nottingham women’s suffrage)” by Rowena Edlin-White

Wednesday 21st September 2022: “Strelley Hall excavations” by James Wright

Wednesday 19th October 2022: “Hallelujah in the halls of Hockley” by Mo Cooper

The following meetings will revert to Zoom meetings only:

Wednesday 16th November 2022: “A grandmother’s legacy: Full steam ahead” by Jenny Mallin